Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

This feature allows you to reset your computer back to factory defaults and automatically reinstall Windows - you can choose to keep your personal files or remove everything - instructions below

 

 

 

 

 

cartoon2             IMPORTANT INFO

 
N.B. Bear in mind that using Reset this PC will wipe all your programs and settings
(and if you select Remove everything
also all your personal data)

 

Accessing Reset this PC

 

Click Start > Settings > Windows Update > Advanced options > Recovery and click Reset PC under the Reset this PC heading.

 

resetthispc1_win11

 

It can also be accessed via Advanced Startup as covered here.

 

Reset this PC Details

 

You will firstly see the following screen where you can choose to Keep my files or Remove everything.

 

resetthispc2_win11

 

Next you will be asked if you wish to re-install Windows using the files available locally on the computer, or if you wish to download the files required from the cloud.  

 

The benefit of choosing Cloud download is that it will download and re-install using the latest available version of Windows 11, whereas the files already stored on your computer could be an older version meaning it would still need to download lots of updates once re-installed.

 

As long as you have a good speed internet connection I recommend choosing Cloud download.

 

resetthispc3_win11

 

Depending on which option you chose you will see a screen confirming your selection and asking you to click Next to proceed.

 

resetthispc4_win11

 

Finally you will see a screen confirming all your selections, click Reset to proceed.

 

You can also click 'View apps that will be removed' to see a list of all software that will be removed as part of the reset process.

 

resetthispc5_win11

 

The reset process will now begin and after a short while whilst it is preparing to reset your computer will automatically restart.

 

resetthispc6_win11

 

The progress of the reset process and the reinstall will be shown on screen.

 

resetthispc7_win11

resetthispc8_win11

 

This process can take some time to complete and the screen may go blank for long periods - wait patiently and DO NOT turn off your computer.

 

 

After the reset is complete a file will be placed on your desktop titled "Removed Applications", if you double click on this file it will show you a list of what programs were removed from your computer during the refresh, so you know what needs reinstalling.

 

resetthispc9_win11

 

© 2004 - 2021 PC Assist @ Home